Jump to content


Photo

Masterserver installation instructions


  • Please log in to reply
227 replies to this topic

#21 Guest_Lanuser

Guest_Lanuser
  • Guests

Posted 06 August 2009 - 05:39 PM

This is great !

Servers show up!!

Now here is another problem.

As for [NO STEAM] servers I can see in Steam client with out problem.
But i cant find server in [NO STEAm] Client.

So in 1 word if im on steam-client i can find every server but if i use nosteam-client i can't find the same server in the list.
Any clue how to fix that ?
Thank you.

#22 k1ller

k1ller

    Admin

  • Moderators - Admin
  • 4,249 posts
455

Posted 06 August 2009 - 06:55 PM

Clarify few things:

1. You see cracked serverlist in your patched Steam, correct?
2. You see only few servers in your standalone Intenet-tab, correct?

Masterserver works for both Steam, no-steam and practically every game. The query protocol is exactly the same but each game just requests their own type of servers. For example CS:S requests "css serverlist" and GMod requests "gmod serverlist". For some games there are not much servers to show.

Check servers page at http://css.setti.info/servers and click the links on the left navigation. In the "other" category you'll find all the game types that don't have their own category.

If you think this didn't answer your question then post which server you can't see.
Posted Image

#23 Guest_

Guest_
  • Guests

Posted 06 August 2009 - 09:55 PM

Clarify few things:

1. You see cracked serverlist in your patched Steam, correct?
2. You see only few servers in your standalone Intenet-tab, correct?

Masterserver works for both Steam, no-steam and practically every game. The query protocol is exactly the same but each game just requests their own type of servers. For example CS:S requests "css serverlist" and GMod requests "gmod serverlist". For some games there are not much servers to show.

Check servers page at http://css.setti.info/servers and click the links on the left navigation. In the "other" category you'll find all the game types that don't have their own category.

If you think this didn't answer your question then post which server you can't see.


[color=#FF0040]You see cracked serverlist in your patched Steam, correct
This is wrong..... I have regular steam account with out any changes or modefications.
I able to find my server in global list with out problem with regular steam account.

With [ NO STEAM-Client ] i updated MasterServers.vdf file and able to see global server list but i CAN'T find my server in that list.
My server runs cs 1.6 No Steam And Steam compatable 2 protocols.
I hope admin wont ban my post im not here to promote my server: but if you need to check:
IP# 67.222.146.75:27015

#24 k1ller

k1ller

    Admin

  • Moderators - Admin
  • 4,249 posts
455

Posted 07 August 2009 - 01:08 PM

Your server is in the serverlist: http://css.setti.inf...22.146.75:27015 (the yellow striping that you might see now is due to connection problems at server hoster end, it'll be corrected automatically as soon as the server scanner gets it going).

You should be able to find your server in the Setti masterserver list if you can see that online status at server statistics page is "online".

Btw, it's OK to advertise servers, check the stickies on this board. Server admins who care enough about their servers to advertise them should get the attention they are after.
Posted Image

#25 Guest_brody

Guest_brody
  • Guests

Posted 30 August 2009 - 06:26 AM

I can make the masterserve list to show... i mean it shows the VALVE servers , but none of the setti ones...

I downloaded Masterservers.vdf and replace it , got it READ ONLY and all but still wont show up..

I added the cstrike lines too , and nothing... still gets me the VALVE servers and no setti ones..

My installation is on c:/program files (x86)/VALVe/Counter-Strike Source/platform/config


any ideas?

#26 Guest_Ultima

Guest_Ultima
  • Guests

Posted 12 September 2009 - 09:47 PM

Can you please help? I've tried all of the instructions, followed them word for word about the masterserver, and I still get rejected.

I am using CS Source, and I'm running Vista.

#27 Guest_

Guest_
  • Guests

Posted 14 September 2009 - 10:08 AM

(I used CSSource_full_v17.1_DiGiTALZonE.exe to install CSS)
I have installed the new masterserver.vdf and ye that part works totally fine, i see the server and everything. But when i try to connect to the server it always stop after the two first blocks... and then after a while it comes up a box that tells that ive failed to connect to the server after 4 attempts, or something like that. I have turned off the firewall to see if that was the problem.. but it still refuse to let me into the server. These are the commands thats in my shortcut if something is wrong with them "-nomaster -game cstrike -nojoy -console". Oh ye one more thing, i saw your optimal settings post, i found everything but cl_rate... theres no such thing in my config.cfg, am i supposed to add it manually or what?

What to do?

Thanks in advance~ morpius.

#28 Guest_

Guest_
  • Guests

Posted 17 September 2009 - 09:12 PM

ihave downloaded tf2 from pirate bay.

wen i play it say online-morg#1...or sumthing
achievments
options
find servers
create server...etc

i install masterserver.vdf and still i see no servers :cry:

#29 k1ller

k1ller

    Admin

  • Moderators - Admin
  • 4,249 posts
455

Posted 23 September 2009 - 03:19 PM

@brody
Most likely you have duplicates of masterservers.vdf. Find all masterservers.vdf in your VALVe directory and delete them. Then follow masterserver install instructions again.

@ultima
If you get rejected when connecting to servers it means your game is outdated. Do you see the serverlist? If not, follow the same instructions as brody.

@morpius
Does that happen with all the servers? It sounds like a router firewall problem. Even if you disable firewall in Windows there might be a firewall in your ADSL modem. Can you play any FPS games online? If not, call your ISP or try to reconfigure your modem.

@Guest
You installed masterservers.vdf wrong. Follow instructions @ http://css.setti.inf...s/masterserver/
Posted Image

#30 Guest_newbie

Guest_newbie
  • Guests

Posted 15 October 2009 - 12:06 AM

how would i do it if i had portable CS1.6 Decayed Lite... I copied the master server to the folder, after unpacking it... but It doesn't seem to do anything. any hints/walkthroughd?

#31 Guest_Guest

Guest_Guest
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 04:38 AM

So, I installed it following the instructions but, everytime I click on a server to join I get an error message saying " steam validation rejected". Am I simply not choosing non-steam servers or is there something more to this?

#32 k1ller

k1ller

    Admin

  • Moderators - Admin
  • 4,249 posts
455

Posted 16 October 2009 - 08:10 AM

I get an error message saying " steam validation rejected"

This means you are trying to join non-patched or badly patched servers.

Make sure you actually get the serverlist from Setti, order servers by number of players and you should see "Powered by css.setti.info" at the top. Another option is to write down few server IP addresses from http://css.setti.info/servers and try to connect to them. You can connect to servers by writing "connect " in console.

Which game are you trying to get working? Are you using Steam or standalone release? If you are using Steam then it's possible that there is something wrong in your own client.
Posted Image

#33 Guest_Guest

Guest_Guest
  • Guests

Posted 19 October 2009 - 07:51 PM

I followed the instructions to the point (Even the read only)
But no servers are showing up.
My install is in
C:Program FilesTeam Fortress 2
The serve file is in
C:Program FilesTeam Fortress 2platformconfig

#34 k1ller

k1ller

    Admin

  • Moderators - Admin
  • 4,249 posts
455

Posted 20 October 2009 - 07:18 AM

Some servers don't allow standalone clients. Check http://cs.rin.ru/forum (requires registration) for Steam based solutions. It's difficult to manage updates on standalone clients too, with Steam it's easier.
Posted Image

#35 Guest_

Guest_
  • Guests

Posted 22 October 2009 - 05:35 PM

I've followed the instructions and am still unable to connect to the master sever to find games im using a non steam version of cs1.6 any ideas

#36 k1ller

k1ller

    Admin

  • Moderators - Admin
  • 4,249 posts
455

Posted 22 October 2009 - 08:59 PM

Be more specific. Do you get serverlist from Valve or no serverlist at all? Try to delete the masterservers.vdf altogether and then start CS1.6. The game probably creates masterservers.vdf with the default values in it, you should see serverlist from Valve. Then follow the Setti masterserver install instructions again.

Basically the whole masterservers.vdf is just a configuration file. You can open it in Notepad and see what's inside.
Posted Image

#37 Guest_dAia

Guest_dAia
  • Guests

Posted 24 October 2009 - 03:10 AM

where can u see "update masterserver"???

#38 Guest_shivam101

Guest_shivam101
  • Guests

Posted 01 November 2009 - 03:21 PM

Hey there.

I get the list of servers in the browser however the majority of them don't respond. It's either that or it shows with the following error message:

Your version does not match the servers.

Please restart the game.

I've installed the MasterServer as asked to do via the instructions but I still can't play online. Please help? :)

#39 k1ller

k1ller

    Admin

  • Moderators - Admin
  • 4,249 posts
455

Posted 01 November 2009 - 09:22 PM

@shivam
Your game is outdated. Download newer release.

Your version does not match the servers. <-- That error means that the server is newer than your game. It's also possible that your game is newer than all the servers but that's very unlikely ;)

What game are you trying to play?

@dAia
What? Read the stickies.
Posted Image

#40 Guest_Help MEeee

Guest_Help MEeee
  • Guests

Posted 05 November 2009 - 05:13 PM

I have a cracked version of Counter Strike Source, I downloaded the replacement for the 'MasterServers.vdf' and made it READ-ONLY. I've put it in the correct directory as well.

However, on some servers I connect too, it says 'steam validation rejected' Help???

:(




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users